South Africa: Preferred bidders announced for emergency power programme

Issue 435 - 25 Mar 2021 | 2 minute read

Mineral resources and energy minister Gwede Mantashe on 18 March announced eight preferred bidders for the Risk Mitigation IPP (RMIPP) Procurement Programme, which aims to procure 2GW of power to bridge a looming supply gap. The eight bidders, representing a total of 1,845MW, are: Acwa Power Project DAO, Karpowership SA Coega, Karpowership SA Richards Bay, Karpowership SA Saldanha, Mulilo Total Coega, Mulilo Total Hydra Storage, Oya Energy Hybrid Facility and Umoyilanga Energy.

Want to read more?

Access via a report

View report options

Subscribe to African Energy

View subscription options

Don't have an account?

Register for access to our free content

An account also allows you to view selected free articles, set up news alerts, search our African Energy Live Data power projects database and view project locations on our interactive map