The Department of Energy has announced the selection of the 100MW Redstone solar thermal project and 100MW Kathu Solar Park as preferred bidders for its third concentrated solar power (CSP) independent power producer (IPP) bid round. Earlier, two preferred bidders from previous rounds – 100MW Xina Solar One, owned by Spain’s Abengoa, the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC), the Government Employees’ Pension Fund (GEPF) and Kaxu Community Trust, and 100MW Karoshoek Solar One, owned by Emvelo, IDC, ACS Cobra Energia, GEPF, Investec and the Karoshoek Community Trust – signed power purchase agreements, implementation agreements and direct agreements that will allow them to reach financial close.