African states stake their claim to the deepest waters

Issue 163 - 23 May 2009 | 3 minute read

Eight African states have applied to the United Nations to extend their territorial waters beyond the 200-mile limit, while the other eligible coastal states have put in preliminary claims (AE 137/21). Ghana, South Africa, Nigeria, Kenya, Mauritius, Seychelles, Côte d’Ivoire and Namibia

Want to read more?

Subscribe to African Energy

View subscription options

Don't have an account?

Register for access to our free content

An account also allows you to view selected free articles, set up news alerts, search our African Energy Live Data power projects database and view project locations on our interactive map