President Uhuru Kenyatta on 12 March signed into law the long-awaited Petroleum Bill 2017, which will regulate oil exploration and production and set out revenue-sharing provisions, and the Energy Bill 2017, which establishes three national entities to manage Kenya’s energy resources.The petroleum law will provide a framework for contracting, exploring, developing and producing hydrocarbons. It will be used to create a national policy for operations and as a reference point in the establishment of petroleum institutions.